Facebook Messenger Will Now Stalk Your Every Move!

Um, What?

Apparently the new Facebook Messenger, which was just updated about 4 days ago, has some new privacy settings, which some people didn’t even read. Did you know the messenger has permission to go through all your calls, call logs, text messages, and camera? There’s a fine line between getting information to help better the communication of Facebook users and going through all your private information just cause they can. What the hell Mark Zuckerberg?! I mean, okay sure, you want to get access to my camera so I can send people pictures, but why must you save that information? Not only that, why are you recording my phone conversations??? What exactly are you trying to find?? If we are worthy of being part of Facebook?

And it’s not only that, to send messages through your phone, you HAVE to download the messenger. It is required to¬†message others. And for that, you have to sacrifice your privacy..?!

2013-11-30-Messenger.jpg

Here are some of the new permissions:

  • Allows the app to change the state of network connectivity
  • Allows the app to call phone numbers without your intervention. This may result in unexpected charges or calls. Malicious apps may cost you money by making calls without your confirmation.
  • Allows the app to send SMS messages. This may result in unexpected charges. Malicious apps may cost you money by sending messages without your confirmation.
  • Allows the app to record audio with microphone. This permission allows the app to record audio at any time without your confirmation.
  • Allows the app to take pictures and videos with the camera. This permission allows the app to use the camera at any time without your confirmation.
  • Allows the app to read you phone’s call log, including data about incoming and outgoing calls. This permission allows apps to save your call log data, and malicious apps may share call log data without your knowledge.
  • Allows the app to read data about your contacts stored on your phone, including the frequency with which you’ve called, emailed, or communicated in other ways with specific individuals.
  • Allows the app to read personal profile information stored on your device, such as your name and contact information. This means the app can identify you and may send your profile information to others.
  • Allows the app to access the phone features of the device. This permission allows the app to determine the phone number and device IDs, whether a call is active, and the remote number connected by a call.
  • Allows the app to get a list of accounts known by the phone. This may include any accounts created by applications you have installed.

 

So, should Facebook have all these permissions to help you connect better with other users? Or should there be a little more restrictions on how much Facebook can really know about you? Is it time to maybe delete the application?! At least until Facebook restricts some of its privacy settings that is.

 



August 9th, 2014 by Sabreena
%d bloggers like this: